Accelerated Kids-God’s Gift to Education. Wait, what?

I have an honors professor who thinks because I’m an “honors kid” I like to read and write papers for fun.  He assumes that we do all of the assigned reading, and analyze it, not just skim it.  I am not extremely motivated because I’m an “honors kid.”  Just because I had a high enough GPA in high school to get me into the Honors College at my University, does not mean I am not as lazy as the rest of the “normal kids” here.  I’m probably more lazy, but my lazy is sufficient enough because it probably equals out to what is expected from the “normal.”  Why do the “smart” kids get punished?  My classes are made harder than regular ones, which I’m fine with… Except for the fact that they aren’t harder in a way that encourages intellectual growth or discussion… No, they’re harder by means of increased paper lengths (7 pages instead of 5), earlier due dates, and essay type exams instead of multiple choice.  Sorry last time I checked my hard work shouldn’t be punished… Being in Honors or Accelerated or AP should be a privilege.  Our system should make it fun, challenging, and rewarding so that other “normal” students work to improve themselves as students so that they too can participate in the advanced courses. Making something “harder” by means of ridiculous standards is NOT what we should do to kids who are willing to work.  These kids, kids like me, should be enthralled that they get to take an honors class, an honors class that should consist of: a less amount of classmates, intellectual discussions, exercises that make you think and strive to reach your full potential in the classroom.  Nope, instead they’re hammered with twice the reading, twice the homework, four times the paper writing, and half the time for a deadline.  Since when did being academically gifted mean you’re some freak of nature with an extra hidden 10 hours in the day who can read 20,000 words/minute?  Oh wait it doesn’t, not in the slightest sense… But in our education system-it does-and boy do I have a problem with that.

Leave a comment